Driving in any state and getting charged with a DUI can come with a hefty fine and huge penalities. Driving in the state of Florida does not differ with these fines and penalties. Though, if researched, a person can read about how it can be possible to retain their drivers license if they follow certain rules. Below are the DUI pentalies that a person can receive when charged in the state of FL, but also some tips on how they might be able to remain driving behind the wheel while dealing with these charges
Florida DUI Penalties
If you are convicted of a first time DUI offense in Florida, you will face a license suspension of up to one year, fines ranging from $500 to $2,000, up to nine months in jail, 50 hours of community service and an interlock ignition device once your license have been reinstated. Additionally, the police can impound your vehicle for 10 days after they charge you with a DUI. It is important to contact a skilled attorney as soon as possible after your arrest to help you avoid receiving a DUI conviction that will have a negative impact on the rest of your life.
Tips for Remaining Behind the Wheel After a DUI
Most people assume that their ability to drive will automatically be suspended after they are arrested for a DUI, but this is not actually the case in Florida. In fact, your DUI citation actually acts as a temporary license that is good for 10 days. However, if you do not take the appropriate action during that time frame, you will lose your ability to drive.
1. Hire an Attorney – As previously mentioned, working with an experienced DUI lawyer, like a Gainesville DUI lawyer firm for instance, is the absolute best way to protect yourself, and it is critical that you hire an experienced attorney during the first 10 days if you want to stay on the road.
2. Request a Formal Review Hearing – Florida law enables drivers who have been charged with a DUI to protect their driving rights by requesting a formal review hearing within 10 days of their arrest. An attorney can file this request for you to ensure that everything is taken care of properly. Once your request has been filed, you will be able to continue driving for an additional 42 days for certain necessary functions such as going to work or school.
3. Attend Your Formal Review Hearing – The review hearing will be held within the 42-day window when you are able to drive. Your lawyer will present your case at this hearing to help you get your license fully reinstated.
Although you can go through the legal process alone, your odds of getting a positive result will be significantly reduced without legal representation. Therefore, it is always best to work with an experienced DUI lawyer who is based out of the area where your arrest occurred.
Researcher Lisa Coleman shares some of Florida’s penalties when a person is charged with a DUI within the state, and also shares tips on how a person can retain their drivers license with certain conditions while fighting this charge. She recently researched how a Gainesville DUI lawyer firm, Katz & Phillips, P.A., is experienced and equipped to help a client during this process after receiving a DUI charge within the state of FL.