Home Autos Lemon Laws in Utah When Buying A Car

Lemon Laws in Utah When Buying A Car

used cars in utah

Lemon Laws in Utah

Lemon laws in Utah are meant to protect consumers from buying or leasing a new car which is seriously flawed that it can’t be repaired or whose repair costs are likely to higher than the cost of purchase. The lemon law in Utah gives the vehicle manufacturers a chance to repair the defects or malfunctions in such vehicles and if they are unable to do so, they will be compelled by the law to replace the cars or issue a refund to the buyer.

lemon laws in utah

Lemon Law Protection in Utah

The Lemon law in Utah applies only to new vehicles and motor homes under warranty. It implies that used cars don’t enjoy the protection of the lemon law and it will by upon the buyer to take the necessary measures to ensure that they get a good deal when purchasing used cars in Utah. Under the Lemon Law in Utah, every buyer is entitled to a replacement or a refund if the vehicle they purchased meets all the following conditions-:

  • The vehicle was bought in Utah
  • The vehicle must not weigh more than 12,000 lbs
  • The vehicle must be new and under warranty
  • The defect present must substantially impair the market value, the use of the safety of the vehicle.
  • The defect must not be due to the owner’s abuse, neglect, or unwarranted vehicle modifications.
  • The must have been unable to use the car for a period of not more than 30 days or the manufacture must have attempted to repair the defect at least four times without any success within the first 12 months of the warranty.
  • The buyer must adhere to the arbitration or informal dispute settlement procedure.

Filing Complaints For Lemon Laws in Utah

If your car meets the above criteria, you can file a lemon law complaint in Utah and have your car replaced or get a refund. Simply file the complaint with the Division of Consumer Protection, and remember to include all the copies of dispute or arbitration settlement records, service records, and all the relevant documents. If it will be determined that your vehicle is a lemon, you will be entitled to a replacement or a refund. The manufacturer may decide to charge you up to 23 cents for every mile covered by the vehicle and deduct this amount from the total refund.

Always feel free to seek the services of a lawyer in case you feel that you need legal advice or if you are not satisfied with the settlement you got.

Also check out “How to Buy a Used Car in Utah“, for those interested in buying a used vehicle in Utah.

Lemon Laws in Utah When Buying A Car
Article Name
Lemon Laws in Utah When Buying A Car
Lemon laws in Utah are meant to protect consumers from buying or leasing a car which is flawed enough that it can’t be repaired beyond the cost of purchase.
Publisher Name
Publisher Logo

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Articles

How To Choose the Most Appropriate Work Gloves

In any working environment that involves manual labor, choosing the right pair...

4 Ways You Can Avoid a Failure of Your Piping System

A piping system is an integral part of any home or establishment....

5 Reasons To Invest in Leather Clothing and Accessories

Leather is one of the fashion industry’s most durable, versatile, and stylish...

Interesting Facts About Firefighting You Should Know

Firefighters have a big responsibility on their shoulders, from saving lives to...